Annual Columbus Day Festival: 2nd Weekend in October

City Council


The City Council is the legislative body of the City. It is comprised of ten citizens elected two from each of five wards of the City to serve two year alternating terms. An elected Mayor presides over the Council.  The members of the Council elect a President of the Council who serves in the absence of the Mayor. The Council establishes local laws and sets policy for the operations of the City.

Council meetings are the first and third Mondays of each month, excluding holidays and begin at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chamber of City Hall. Meetings are open to the public except for executive sessions. Executive sessions are for discussion only. All formal action must be taken during regular or special meetings.

Council members and the Mayor do not keep regular office hours at City Hall. Inquiries to a council member or the Mayor may be directed through the City Clerk’s office.

Ward 1

Jerry Burton (Not Pictured)                Stephanie Farstvedt (Not Pictured)                                                          

Ward 2

Sean Gilmore                                       Jan Houser (Not Pictured)


Ward 3

Tom Pryor                                            John Brassart (Not Pictured)

Tom Pryor            

Ward 4

Steve Dunlap                                      Sammye Opela

 Dunlap                                                    SOPELA

Ward 5

Connie Bennett                                  Kathy Doherty (Not Pictured)


  • News
  • Useful

News & Notices

  • Interested in Speaking at a Council Meeting?
    The City Council values your opinion. You are welcomed and encouraged to voice your opinion to the City Council at any time using email or by contacting City Council members or City Staff directly. Please take a moment to read our Brochure to get th...
Subscribe to this feed

Contact Us

City Hall (more)
300 E Maple St
Columbus, KS 66725
Get Directions

In this Department